Motivational Tip 4: Start Small

Have you ever felt like some days you’ve given yourself a lot of things to do and even though it is possible to complete it all, the feeling of stress and overwhelm make it harder to start and complete the tasks? I have. This used to happen to me a lot actually, until I began to change my processes of thought.

Have you ever felt like some days you’ve given yourself a lot of things to do and even though it is possible to complete it all, the feeling of stress and overwhelm make it harder to start and complete the tasks?  I have.  This used to happen to me a lot actually, until I began to change my processes of thought.

Changing my thought process helped me out with the following…

1. Getting myself to stop procrastinating.

2. Tackling a big project.

3. Getting stuff done even though I’m feeling tired or low on energy.

4. Feeling less overwhelmed when doing what’s required of me for the day.

5. Getting the stuff done that needs to get done and still having time to do stuff for myself that I’d like to do.

I realized that the thoughts I was having when I had a lot to accomplish were self-wallowing, over-reactive, and un-true statements. Things like, “I’m never going to get all this stuff done.” “I have too much to do, there’s no way I can finish it all today.” “Even when I do all that stuff, there’s just going to be a never-ending list for me to do after that, it makes it impossible for me to even want to start.”

These statements are unproductive and actually counterproductive. Instead I learned to change those statements and thoughts into more truthful statements like, “I may not get this all done today but I can get a portion done for sure.” “This project will be on-going for quite some time, so how about after I work on it for an hour I’ll spend a half hour doing something that I want to do just to break it up.” “How about I just start small instead of doing nothing at all.”

These types of statements make it easier to get started and get going on what needs to be done. This can help with feelings of stress and overwhelm and lead to a more productive way of life. Oftentimes, getting started is the hardest part and usually once I get going, I end up getting more done than I thought I could originally.

file-dec-09-9-36-44-am

Breaking up the have-to-do list with the things from my want-to-do list have really helped my motivation and productivity. When I have something planned that I want to do for my own enjoyment (like working on my hobbies, pampering myself mentally or physically in some way not having to do with food/drink/dessert etc.) it helps to make mundane tasks that I have to do seem less weighing because I have something that I know I can do for myself to lift my spirits part of the way through my have-to-do list.

During a time in my life when I gave up on all of my hobbies and things that I did only for me and my own enjoyment, I felt much more overwhelmed, stressed and depressed in completing my day to day responsibilities. If you feel like you’ve given up those types of things, I’d encourage you to rediscover them!

Some things I like to do for my own personal enjoyment are, dance or sing loudly to empowering music of my choice, going to belly dance class, composing songs, being goofy, relaxing in a bubble bath while listening to music that speaks to my current emotions, blogging, coming up with motivational quotes that I need at the moment and posting them on my Instagram, seeing and enjoying the beauty in nature, spending time with friends, or making YouTube videos.

I used to call my kids my hobby.  Although I love doing things with and for my kids, it just wasn’t providing me the mental and emotional strength and motivation that I needed. That’s certainly not the case for everyone. I used to think that my husband could be a good substitute for all of my hobbies and things that I did just for me. I learned later that having our own set of hobbies is actually a sign of a healthy relationship and a mentally and emotionally healthier me!
I’d love to hear about what you do just for you and any ideas about how you all get yourselves to dive into a big project or to-do list!

Click on the following links for my past motivational tips about self-compassion , self-approval , or overcoming what others think of you.

Until next time,

Be Gleefully Me (as you not as me;-)

Leave a Reply

