Motivational Tip 1: Self-Compassion

Happy first week in January everybody!!! 2017 is here and already I woke up UNMOTIVATED! What should I do?  I have people counting on me to motivate them in their New Year’s Goals! Here’s what I did…

It’s called self-compassion BABY!!!
Last year was the first time I had ever heard about this term. Little did I know back then, what a difference it can make in being motivated to accomplish goals.
 
Self-compassion involves being kind, caring and understanding with yourself instead of being critical or judgmental. It also recognizes that all humans are imperfect and to be patient with those imperfections in yourself. Lastly, being aware of any stressful or overwhelmed feelings in a clear and balanced manner so that you aren’t  ignoring or obsessing about disliked aspects of your life or yourself (Neff, Kristin, Ph.D. “Let Go of Self-criticism and Discover Self-compassion.” Psychology Today. Psychology Today, 18 Mar. 2011. Web. 04 Jan. 2017).
 
Some examples from my life when I caught my inner-critic up to no good and changed that pathway of thought into being more self-compassionate;
 
Inner-critic says, “You’re such a bad mom, you never make cookies for your kids.”
 
Self-compassionate me says, “I’m good at doing other things for my kids, just because baking cookies isn’t one of them, doesn’t make me a bad mom.”
 
Inner-critic says, “You’re house is never clean, you are such a bad wife/housekeeper.”
 
Self-compassionate me says, “Ya, the house is messy and it’s because I have 3 young kids who are still learning how to be clean and we’re human and it’s normal for messes to happen.”
 
Once you respond to yourself in that self-compassionate way, it takes away the stress and pressure and feelings of overwhelm. Then it makes it easier to look at it in a more balanced way and make any changes if you desire.
 
I made a video yesterday about my experience that I had when I woke up and immediately felt overwhelmed, stressed, and anxious about the day. I explain what I did and how self-compassion helped me to get through those feelings a lot faster and easier so that I could still accomplish my goals for the day!
 
Here’s the video…

 

If you are wanting one email a week with tips like this that has motivation for you to achieve your New Year’s Goals, click here so I can add you to my free “New Year’s Goals 2017” support group!  Let’s support each other!

Here’s more information about becoming more self-compassionate from Psychology Today.  Click here to view.

Until next time,

Be Gleefully Me (as you not as me;-)

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Motivational Tip 1: Self-Compassion

  1. My students are relying on me to motivate them. I am a teacher. I have never heard of self compassion.
    Congratulations on being Danny Ray’s featured blogger. I was just featured blogger too. Maybe you can check out my blog if you need a blogging tip or two. That’s what I write about.
    I brought you the link to my about page, so you can more about my blog and. Also, my avatar takes you to the wrong site.
    http://wp.me/P6x6vQ-89
    Like Danny, I have many blog parties each month.
    Janice

    Like

    1. Janice! I am a teacher too! What do you teach? I teach k-6 music. Self-compassion will totally be beneficial for you to pass on to your students. It can be encorporated easily when you hear them say something negative about themselves. I will definitely check out your blog!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

